Thirty-six Symetra Tour Alums in field for the CME Group Titleholders

Photo Credit: Scott Miller

The LPGA Tour concludes the 2012 season this week at the CME Group Titleholders and will be played on a new course this year; The TwinEagles Club, Eagles Course in Naples, Fla.

The second annual event will be staged Nov. 15-18 and feature a star-studded field of 73 players who punched their ticket after qualifying at one of the 26 LPGA events this year. Those players will compete for a total purse of $1.5 million in the unique season-long qualifying format with the winner earning a prize check of $500,000.

Thirty-six Symetra Tour alums will be in the field this week including Rolex Player of the Year Stacy Lewis who clinched top honors last week after she tied for fourth at the Lorena Ochoa Invitational Presented by Banamex and Jalisco. Fellow alum Inbee Park made a run at the award but currently has the lead over Lewis in the race for the Vare Trophy, which is given for the lowest scoring average. Park currently leads Lewis by a tiny margin, with a 70.2 to 70.26 average respectively.

Veronica Felibert and Jacqui Concolino represent 2012 Symetra Tour members in the field this week. Felibert qualified at the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Presented by P&G when she had a career-best finish T4. She made 13 starts on the LPGA with one top-10 finish. She appeared in three events on the Symetra Tour this season and recorded a season-best T10 at the Credit Union Classic.

Concolino made 11 starts on the LPGA this season and qualified for the CME Group Titleholders at the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-1 where she T11. The Orlando native made two appearances on the Symetra Tour in 2012 and finished T46 at the Florida’s Natural Charity Classic and T4 at the Sara Bay Classic.

There are 17 card winners (players who earned LPGA status by finishing among the top money winners to automatically earn their LPGA card) in the field and three former players of the year: Vicky Hurst (2008), Mina Harigae (2009) and Cindy LaCrosse (2010).

Topics: Tournament Preview, LPGA Tour